Lernen mit Kopf, Herz und Hand

Lernen mit Kopf, Herz und Hand

SERVICES

Kindergarten

An der GASFL bieten wir unseren Schülern die Erfahrung, vollständig in einen deutschen Immersion Kindergarten einzutauchen, welcher von den Ideen der Montessori Methode beeinflusst ist. Wir sind bestrebt, Ihrem Kind die bestmögliche Bildung und Betreuung zu bieten.

Samstagsschule

Die Samstagsschule der German – American School of Ft. Lauderdale bietet verschiedene Kurse an, in denen Kindern und Erwachsenen die Deutsche Sprache, Kultur und Bräuche vermittelt werden. Der Unterricht findet am Samstagvormittag statt.

Sommer Camp

Das Sommercamp-Programm der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Schule von Ft. Lauderdale bietet vielfältige Aktivitäten im Klassenraum, als auch auf unseren Spielplätzen an. Weiterhin sorgen wir für viel Spaß, ermöglichen den Kindern vielfältige Entdeckungsreisen und das Knüpfen von neuen Freundschaften für Kinder von 1 bis 9 Jahren.

AKTUELLES / VERANSTALTUNGEN

mehr lesen

PHILOSOPHIE

Die „German School of Ft. Lauderdale“ wurde im Sommer des Jahres 2002 aufgrund der Nachfrage verschiedener deutscher in Süd Florida lebender Familien gegründet.

Was wir bieten
Wir bieten Ihnen ein tägliches Montessori-Vorschulprogramm an, welches in einem vollen, deutschen Immersionsplan unterrichtet wird. Weiterhin unterrichten wir Deutsch-sprachigen Grundschulunterricht und Gruppenkurse für „Deutsch als Fremdsprache“ für Kinder und Erwachsene.

Der Unterricht wird von ausgebildeten Fachkräften erteilt.

Unsere Schüler nehmen jährlich am “National German Exam’ der AATG (American Association of Teacher of German) und an den Pruefungen zum Deutschen Sprachdiplom, abgenommen von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA), teil.

Die GSFL bereitet seine Schüler auf die AP, oder Advanced Placement-Prüfung vor. Dies ist eine College-Level-Prüfung, die Schüler an ihren Highschools ablegen können. Studenten müssen sich an ihrer Schule Registrieren und für die Prüfung bezahlen. Diese wird im Monat Mai abgelegt.
Die AP Deutsche Sprach- und Kultur Prüfung bewertet die Fertigkeiten der Schüler auf intrapersonalem, interpretierendendem und präsentierendem Level der Kommunikation. Die Prüfung ist 3 Stunden lang und umfasst sowohl einen 95-minütigen Multiple-Choice- und einen 85-minütigen Teil zum freien Antworten. Der Multiple-Choice-Teil zählt für die eine Hälfte des Prüfungsergebnisses und der Abschnitt mit den freien Antworten für die andere Hälfte.

Unser Programm beinhaltet auch ein vielfältiges Musik- und Kunstprogramm. Flötenunterricht, Singen, Musizieren, Werken und Basteln finden hier in verschiedenen Kursen Beachtung.

Die Kinder werden mit Spaß und Freude am Unterricht zum Lernziel gebracht.

Wie wir unterrichten
Die Unterrichtsprinzipien des Lernens mit ‚Kopf, Herz und Hand‘wie die des `Lernens mit allen Sinnen‘, spielen beim Spracherwerb der deutschen Sprache und dem Kontakt zur deutschen Kultur eine besonders wichtige Rolle. Das volle Immersionskonzept unserer Schule basiert auf dem Glauben, dass Sprachen am besten in Situationen erlernt werden, in denen Schüler spielen, erforschen, konstruieren, singen und somit lernen. Unter Verwendung von Spielen, Handpuppen, Liedern, Reimen und kleinen Szenen, bauen die Kinder Sprachmuster auf, die sie in für sie persönlich bedeutenden Situationen anwenden können. Während die Kinder im Gebrauch der deutschen Sprache immer fließender werden, werden sie gleichzeitig auf einen sanften Übergang zu einem amerikanischen Kindergarten vorbereitet, da Buchstaben, Phonetik, Zahlen etc., auch in englischer Sprache eingeführt werden.

Die Lehrer der `German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘agieren als Begleiter und Helfer bei dem natürlichen Wunsch der Kinder zu lernen. Lehrer bereiten das Klassenzimmer, die Materialien vor und leiten die Schüler sanft dazu an, ihre individuellen Lernziele zu erreichen. Unsere Unterrichtsmethoden betonen natürliche Lernprozesse, sowie Spiel und Spaß. Die `German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘ folgt dem Prinzip, dass Schüler von ihren Mitschülern lernen, und dass sie positive Vorbilder für ältere und jüngere Klassenkameraden darstellen können.

Unser Klassenzimmer ist ausschließlich mit lehrreichen Materialien bestückt und unsere Arbeit basiert auf den Grundlagen der „Montessori-Methode“. Das „Montessori-Umfeld“ ist ruhig, respektvoll und nicht wettbewerbsorientiert. Die Kinder können sich frei und zweckorientiert im Klassenzimmer bewegen. Dabei suchen sie Materialien aus, mithilfe derer sie „lernen“ möchten und die sie, bevor sie sich zum nächsten Projekt weiterbegeben, wie vorgefunden auf das Regal zurücklegen.

Die Unterrichtsmaterialien werden in der Regel auf individueller Basis eingeführt, wobei Kreisspiele, Musik, Kunst und Aktivitäten im Freien hinreichend Möglichkeiten für Gruppeninteraktion bieten. Der Großteil der Unterrichtsmaterialien ist von der gesprochenen Sprache unabhängig und eignet sich wunderbar für den Einsatz im zweisprachigen Umfeld.

Unsere Werte
Die Gemeinschaft der Deutschen Schule respektiert jedes Kind als individuelle Person. Wir schätzen persönliche, emotionale, soziale und kulturelle Unterschiede unserer Schüler, und streben es an, ein vertrautes Verhältnis zwischen Lehrern, Eltern und Kindern aufzubauen. Wir möchten, dass unsere Schüler in einer Art wachsen und lernen können, die ihren persönlichen Anforderungen entspricht. Die Klassenzimmer der ‚German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘sind mit einzigartigen kleinen Persönlichkeiten und individuellen Sichtweisen gefüllt. Unsere Unterrichtsphilosophie bietet den Kindern eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, sich selbstsicher und angenommen zu fühlen, während sie ihren eigenen Interessen, Gedanken und Gefühlen nachgehen und somit ihre individuelle Persönlichkeit voll entfalten können.

Multikultureller Ansatz
Durch die Integration kultureller deutscher Werte in das Curriculum, fördert die ‚German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘das Verständnis für eine multikulturelle Gesellschaft. Wir arbeiten mit Unterrichtsinhalten, die typisch deutsche Traditionen, z. B. Welche Festlichkeiten feiert deine Familie?‘, in einer Form hervorheben, die das Bewusstsein von Unterschieden und Gemeinsamkeiten von Menschen und Kulturen der globalen Gemeinschaft fördert. Wir bauen eine friedliche, die Welt umarmende Haltung in unseren Schülern auf, indem wir sie ermutigen in die Welt hinauszugehen, zu erforschen, zu finden, zu erfahren und zu lernen.

Bezüglich der Leitung der Schule glauben wir, dass ein Schulleiter über alle Aspekte des täglichen Schullebens informiert sein muss, es muss eine Verbindung existieren. Schulleiter und Lehrer sollten über den Ablauf und alle Inhalte informiert sein und erkennen, wann und wo Änderungen notwendig sind. Eines der wichtigsten Elemente zur Förderung eines positives Verhältnises im Kollegium ist Respekt zwischen Mitarbeitern. Gleichzeitig ist es sehr wichtig mit gutem Beispiel voranzugehen, und als Vorbild für das Kollegium, als auch für die Schüler zu agieren. Wir glauben an eine offene Kommunikation, die ein anderes sehr wichtiges Werkzeug ist, den positiven Bezug zu Mitarbeitern und Kollegen aufrecht zu erhalten.

...mehr lesen

Was wir bieten

Wir bieten Ihnen ein tägliches Montessori-Vorschulprogramm an, welches in einem vollen, deutschen Immersionsplan unterrichtet wird. Weiterhin unterrichten wir Deutsch-sprachigen Grundschulunterricht und Gruppenkurse für „Deutsch als Fremdsprache“ für Kinder und Erwachsene.

Der Unterricht wird von ausgebildeten Fachkräften erteilt.

Unsere Schüler nehmen jährlich am “National German Exam’ der AATG (American Association of Teacher of German) und an den Pruefungen zum Deutschen Sprachdiplom, abgenommen von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA), teil.

Die GSFL bereitet seine Schüler auf die AP, oder Advanced Placement-Prüfung vor. Dies ist eine College-Level-Prüfung, die Schüler an ihren Highschools ablegen können. Studenten müssen sich an ihrer Schule Registrieren und für die Prüfung bezahlen. Diese wird im Monat Mai abgelegt.
Die AP Deutsche Sprach- und Kultur Prüfung bewertet die Fertigkeiten der Schüler auf intrapersonalem, interpretierendendem und präsentierendem Level der Kommunikation. Die Prüfung ist 3 Stunden lang und umfasst sowohl einen 95-minütigen Multiple-Choice- und einen 85-minütigen Teil zum freien Antworten. Der Multiple-Choice-Teil zählt für die eine Hälfte des Prüfungsergebnisses und der Abschnitt mit den freien Antworten für die andere Hälfte.

Unser Programm beinhaltet auch ein vielfältiges Musik- und Kunstprogramm. Flötenunterricht, Singen, Musizieren, Werken und Basteln finden hier in verschiedenen Kursen Beachtung.

Die Kinder werden mit Spaß und Freude am Unterricht zum Lernziel gebracht.

...mehr lesen

Wie wir unterrichten

Die Unterrichtsprinzipien des Lernens mit ‚Kopf, Herz und Hand‘wie die des `Lernens mit allen Sinnen‘, spielen beim Spracherwerb der deutschen Sprache und dem Kontakt zur deutschen Kultur eine besonders wichtige Rolle. Das volle Immersionskonzept unserer Schule basiert auf dem Glauben, dass Sprachen am besten in Situationen erlernt werden, in denen Schüler spielen, erforschen, konstruieren, singen und somit lernen. Unter Verwendung von Spielen, Handpuppen, Liedern, Reimen und kleinen Szenen, bauen die Kinder Sprachmuster auf, die sie in für sie persönlich bedeutenden Situationen anwenden können.

Während die Kinder im Gebrauch der deutschen Sprache immer fließender werden, werden sie gleichzeitig auf einen sanften Übergang zu einem amerikanischen Kindergarten vorbereitet, da Buchstaben, Phonetik, Zahlen etc., auch in englischer Sprache eingeführt werden.

Die Lehrer der `German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘agieren als Begleiter und Helfer bei dem natürlichen Wunsch der Kinder zu lernen. Lehrer bereiten das Klassenzimmer, die Materialien vor und leiten die Schüler sanft dazu an, ihre individuellen Lernziele zu erreichen. Unsere Unterrichtsmethoden betonen natürliche Lernprozesse, sowie Spiel und Spaß. Die `German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘ folgt dem Prinzip, dass Schüler von ihren Mitschülern lernen, und dass sie positive Vorbilder für ältere und jüngere Klassenkameraden darstellen können.

Unser Klassenzimmer ist ausschließlich mit lehrreichen Materialien bestückt und unsere Arbeit basiert auf den Grundlagen der „Montessori-Methode“. Das „Montessori-Umfeld“ ist ruhig, respektvoll und nicht wettbewerbsorientiert. Die Kinder können sich frei und zweckorientiert im Klassenzimmer bewegen. Dabei suchen sie Materialien aus, mithilfe derer sie „lernen“ möchten und die sie, bevor sie sich zum nächsten Projekt weiterbegeben, wie vorgefunden auf das Regal zurücklegen.

Die Unterrichtsmaterialien werden in der Regel auf individueller Basis eingeführt, wobei Kreisspiele, Musik, Kunst und Aktivitäten im Freien hinreichend Möglichkeiten für Gruppeninteraktion bieten. Der Großteil der Unterrichtsmaterialien ist von der gesprochenen Sprache unabhängig und eignet sich wunderbar für den Einsatz im zweisprachigen Umfeld.

...mehr lesen

Unsere Werte

Die Gemeinschaft der Deutschen Schule respektiert jedes Kind als individuelle Person. Wir schätzen persönliche, emotionale, soziale und kulturelle Unterschiede unserer Schüler, und streben es an, ein vertrautes Verhältnis zwischen Lehrern, Eltern und Kindern aufzubauen. Wir möchten, dass unsere Schüler in einer Art wachsen und lernen können, die ihren persönlichen Anforderungen entspricht.

Die Klassenzimmer der ‚German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘sind mit einzigartigen kleinen Persönlichkeiten und individuellen Sichtweisen gefüllt. Unsere Unterrichtsphilosophie bietet den Kindern eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, sich selbstsicher und angenommen zu fühlen, während sie ihren eigenen Interessen, Gedanken und Gefühlen nachgehen und somit ihre individuelle Persönlichkeit voll entfalten können.

Multikultureller Ansatz
Durch die Integration kultureller deutscher Werte in das Curriculum, fördert die ‚German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘das Verständnis für eine multikulturelle Gesellschaft. Wir arbeiten mit Unterrichtsinhalten, die typisch deutsche Traditionen, z. B. Welche Festlichkeiten feiert deine Familie?‘, in einer Form hervorheben, die das Bewusstsein von Unterschieden und Gemeinsamkeiten von Menschen und Kulturen der globalen Gemeinschaft fördert. Wir bauen eine friedliche, die Welt umarmende Haltung in unseren Schülern auf, indem wir sie ermutigen in die Welt hinauszugehen, zu erforschen, zu finden, zu erfahren und zu lernen.

Bezüglich der Leitung der Schule glauben wir, dass ein Schulleiter über alle Aspekte des täglichen Schullebens informiert sein muss, es muss eine Verbindung existieren. Schulleiter und Lehrer sollten über den Ablauf und alle Inhalte informiert sein und erkennen, wann und wo Änderungen notwendig sind. Eines der wichtigsten Elemente zur Förderung eines positives Verhältnises im Kollegium ist Respekt zwischen Mitarbeitern. Gleichzeitig ist es sehr wichtig mit gutem Beispiel voranzugehen, und als Vorbild für das Kollegium, als auch für die Schüler zu agieren. Wir glauben an eine offene Kommunikation, die ein anderes sehr wichtiges Werkzeug ist, den positiven Bezug zu Mitarbeitern und Kollegen aufrecht zu erhalten.

...mehr lesen

WILLKOMMEN

Multikultureller Ansatz

Durch die Integration kultureller deutscher Werte in das Curriculum, fördert die ‚German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘ das Verständnis für eine multikulturelle Gesellschaft. Wir arbeiten mit Unterrichtsinhalten, die typisch deutsche Traditionen, z. B. Welche Festlichkeiten feiert deine Familie?‘, in einer Form hervorheben, die das Bewusstsein von Unterschieden und Gemeinsamkeiten von Menschen und Kulturen der globalen Gemeinschaft fördert. Wir bauen eine friedliche, die Welt umarmende Haltung in unseren Schülern auf, indem wir sie ermutigen in die Welt hinauszugehen, zu erforschen, zu finden, zu erfahren und zu lernen.

Bezüglich der Leitung der Schule glauben wir, dass ein Schulleiter über alle Aspekte des täglichen Schullebens informiert sein muss, es muss eine Verbindung existieren. Schulleiter und Lehrer sollten über den Ablauf und alle Inhalte informiert sein und erkennen, wann und wo Änderungen notwendig sind. Eines der wichtigsten Elemente zur Förderung eines positives Verhältnisses im Kollegium ist Respekt zwischen Mitarbeitern. Gleichzeitig ist es sehr wichtig mit gutem Beispiel voranzugehen, und als Vorbild für das Kollegium, als auch für die Schüler zu agieren. Wir glauben an eine offene Kommunikation, die ein anderes sehr wichtiges Werkzeug ist, den positiven Bezug zu Mitarbeitern und Kollegen aufrecht zu erhalten.

Svenja Iglesias

Svenja Iglesias was born in Essen, Germany, and has lived and worked there until the year of 2000. She attended the ‚University Essen‘ and passed the ‘First State Examination for Elementary School Teachers’.
Following that, she concluded a two year internship at the ‘Study seminar for Elementary School Teachers – Essen’ and passed the ‘Second State Exam for Elementary School Teachers’, which is the equivalent of the US degree ‚Master of Science in Elementary Education‘.
The focus of Svenja’s pedagogical interest was and still is reform pedagogy. Both her state exam thesis dealt with these areas.
Svenja founded the ‘German-American School’ in August of 2002, first as a Saturday school and later followed by the preschool. She loves to pass the German language, customs and culture on abroad, as well as the teaching of children and adults.
Svenja is very passionate about her profession.
In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her husband, daughters and friends, loves traveling, working out as well as activities in the nature and waters of Florida.

Svenja Iglesias
(Director/ Owner)

Die APPLE-Akkreditierung (Accredited Professional Preschool Learning Environment) ist ein nationales, amerikanisches Programm für Kindergärten, das diese für den Betrieb hochwertiger Programme anerkennt. Untersuchungen zeigen einen direkten Zusammenhang zwischen einer qualitativ hochwertigen Lernerfahrung und dem zukünftigen Erfolg eines Kindes. APPLE legt die Standards fest, die den Prozess beschleunigen, dieses Niveau an Pflege- und Bildungsergebnissen zu erreichen

Die 1978 gegründete German Language School Conference (GLSC) ist die einzige nationale Organisation, die sich in den USA mit den Bedürfnissen von deutschen Sprachschulen und deren dazugehörige Gemeinde befasst. Unsere Mission ist es, die Mitgliedsschulen durch eine zentrale Organisation mit Informationen zu unterstützen und zu verbinden. Wir helfen beim Aufbau neuer Sprachschulen und bieten den Schulen ein Forum für den Austausch von Erfahrungen und Ratschlägen.

PASCH steht für die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“. Es vernetzt weltweit mehr als 1.800 Schulen, an denen die deutsche Sprache von Bedeutung ist. PASCH ist eine Initiative des Auswärtigen Amtes in Zusammenarbeit mit der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA), dem Goethe-Institut (GI), dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) und dem Pädagogischen Austauschdienst (PAD) der Ständigen Konferenz.

Das Deutsche Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz kann von Schülern der ‚German-American School of Ft. Lauderdale‘ als Nachweis deutscher Sprachkenntnisse in zwei Stufen erworben werden. Insgesamt werden dabei 4 Fertigkeiten in 4 Prüfungsteilen abgeprüft: Hörverstehen, Leseverstehen, Schriftliche und Mündliche Kommunikation. Die Testaufgaben werden von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA) in Köln erstellt, die Durchführung liegt bei den Deutschlehrern vor Ort.

Stufe I des DSD gilt als Nachweis der Deutschkenntnisse, die zur Aufnahme an ein Studienkolleg erforderlich sind. Stufe II gilt laut Beschluss der Kultusministerkonferenz als Nachweis der für ein Hochschulstudium in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse.

Das freiwillige Vorschulerziehungsprogramm (VPK) ist ein kostenloses Vorschulerziehungsprogramm für 4- und 5-Jährige mit Wohnsitz in Florida. Eltern können ihr Kind in diesem Jahr für das kostenlose, freiwillige Vorschulerziehungsprogramm (VPK) des Staates anmelden, oder bis zum nächsten Jahr warten, wenn ihr Kind 5 Jahre alt ist. Das Programm und dessen Kurrikulum werden durch den Staat Florida reguliert.

Die Florida Association for Child Care Management ist eine gemeinnützige, professionelle Organisation von Kindergärten, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, durch Akkreditierung, Bildung und Unterstützung die höchste Qualität im Bereich der frühkindlichen Bildung zu gewährleisten.

Das Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) ist eine staatliche Behörde in Florida. Der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Tallahassee. Die Abteilung bietet soziale Dienste für Kinder, Erwachsene, Flüchtlinge, Opfer häuslicher Gewalt, Opfer von Menschenhandel, Obdachlose, Kinderbetreuer, behinderte Menschen und ältere Menschen.

Mit fast 3.500 Mitgliedern richtet sich die American Association of Teachers of German an Deutschlehrer auf allen Unterrichtsstufen und an alle, die am Deutschunterricht interessiert sind. AATG wurde 1926 gegründet und ist der Ansicht, dass es ein wichtiges humanistisches Unterfangen ist, allen Amerikanern die Sprache, Literatur und Kultur der deutschsprachigen Welt näher zu bringen, was wesentlichen dem nationalen Interesse dient.

Lernen mit Kopf, Herz und Hand

Lernen mit Kopf, Herz und Hand

SERVICES

Preschool

At the GASFL, we offer our students the experience of full immersion German preschool classrooms influenced by the idea of the Montessori Method. We are committed to providing your child with the best possible education and care. All our highly qualified teachers thrive to have

Saturday School

The Saturday School at the German – American School of Ft. Lauderdale offers various courses in which children and adults learn the German language, customs and culture. We furthermore teach Art-, Music- and Science / Social Studies courses in a full immersion German setting.

Summer Camp

The German-American School of Ft. Lauderdale’s Summer Camp Program offers indoor and outdoor activities, plus opportunities for fun, friendships, and exploration for children 1-9 years in a fun and relaxed full immersion German language setting.

NEWS / EVENTS

read more

OUR PHILOSOPHY

The ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ was founded in summer 2002.

What we Offer
We offer a daily full German immersion Montessori preschool program. Furthermore the curriculum includes ‘German Lessons at the Elementary Level’ and group lessons teaching ‘German as a Foreign Language’ for children and adults.

Classes are being taught by certified instructors.
Our pupils participate annually in the “National German Exam’ of the AATG (American Association of Teachers of German) and in the examinations to “The german Language Diploma’, administered by the ‘Central Agency for Schools Abroad’ (ZfA).

The ‘German School of Fort Lauderdale’ will prepare its students for the AP, or Advanced Placement exam. This is a college-level exam, which students can take at their high schools. Students need to register and pay for the exam at their school. It gets administered in the month of May.
The AP German Language and Culture Exam assesses students’ proficiencies in the interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational modes of communication. The exam is three hours long and includes both a 95-minute multiple-choice section and an 85-minute free-response section. The multiple-choice section accounts for half of the student’s exam grade, and the free-response section accounts for the other half.

Our program furthermore includes a diverse music and art program. Recorder lessons, singing, music, arts and crafts play a role in the various courses offered. ‘Learning With All Your Senses’ and open work-forms count among the dominant teaching principles and methods. In our daily preschool program, we work according to the ideas and principles of the Montessori Method.

How We Teach
At the German School of Ft. Lauderdale the teaching principles of ‘Learning With Your Head, Heart, and Hands’ like those of ‘Learning With All Your Senses’ play a particularly important role for children being introduced to the German language and culture. The full immersion concept of our school is based on the belief that languages are best learned in situations, in which students play, explore, create, sing, and learn. Using games, puppets, songs, rhymes, and small scenes, our curriculum builds upon German speech patterns, the children may apply to various settings they find meaningful. While students will become more and more fluent in speaking the German language, they will be prepared to enter an American Kindergarten at the end of our preschool program, since letters, phonics, number etc. are introduced in the English language at the VPK program of our partner school.

The teachers at the ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ act as guides and helpers in the children’s natural desire to learn. Teachers prepare the classroom, its materials and guide students gently towards their individual goals. Instruction methods emphasize natural learning processes, play, and fun. The ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ recognizes that students learn from their peers, and that they can be positive role models for students both older and younger than themselves.

Our classroom is equipped with exclusively educational materials and we have incorporated some aspects of the ‘Montessori Method’ and its materials into our curriculum. The ‘Montessori Environment’ is quiet, respectful, and non-competitive. Children move freely and purposefully throughout the classroom choosing materials they wish to “learn” with, returning them to the shelf as found before moving on to new work.

Lessons are usually presented individually, with ample opportunities for group interaction during circle, music, art, and outdoor activities. Most lessons are independent from the language spoken and are wonderful instruments for a full immersion, or a bilingual language setting.

What We Value
The German School community respects each child as a unique person. We value our student’s physical, emotional, social and cultural individuality, and seek to establish a trusting relationship between teachers, parents and children so that students can grow and learn in a way that fits their personal needs. The German School classroom, enriched by the unique personalities and perspectives of each student, provides an environment in which children can feel confident in exploring their own interests, thoughts and feelings.

Multicultural Approach
By introducing elements of German culture, the ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ supports the understanding of multiple cultures. We design activities that highlight traditions specific to German-speaking cultures in a manner that invites and respects the individual background of all students. Discussions such as “What festivities does your family celebrate?” establishes an awareness of the differences and commonalities between people and cultures in the global community. We model a peaceful, embracing attitude about the world, while encouraging a desire within our students to go out into the world to explore, find, experience and learn.

On the matter of leadership, we believe, that a leader needs to be involved in all aspects of the daily school life, stay connected and understand what is going on and where changes are necessary. Respect for each other is one of the most important elements to maintain a positive relationship with all employees. At the same time it is very important to lead by example and to act as a role model to other members of the staff, as well as students. We believe in open communication, which is an important tool in staying connected to staff members.

...read more

What we Offer

We offer a daily full German immersion Montessori preschool program. Furthermore the curriculum includes ‘German Lessons at the Elementary Level’ and group lessons teaching ‘German as a Foreign Language’ for children and adults.

Classes are being taught by certified instructors.
Our pupils participate annually in the “National German Exam’ of the AATG (American Association of Teachers of German) and in the examinations to “The german Language Diploma’, administered by the ‘Central Agency for Schools Abroad’ (ZfA).

The ‘German School of Fort Lauderdale’ will prepare its students for the AP, or Advanced Placement exam. This is a college-level exam, which students can take at their high schools. Students need to register and pay for the exam at their school. It gets administered in the month of May.
The AP German Language and Culture Exam assesses students’ proficiencies in the interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational modes of communication. The exam is three hours long and includes both a 95-minute multiple-choice section and an 85-minute free-response section. The multiple-choice section accounts for half of the student’s exam grade, and the free-response section accounts for the other half.

Our program furthermore includes a diverse music and art program. Recorder lessons, singing, music, arts and crafts play a role in the various courses offered. ‘Learning With All Your Senses’ and open work-forms count among the dominant teaching principles and methods. In our daily preschool program, we work according to the ideas and principles of the Montessori Method.

...read more

How We Teach

At the German School of Ft. Lauderdale the teaching principles of ‘Learning With Your Head, Heart, and Hands’ like those of ‘Learning With All Your Senses’ play a particularly important role for children being introduced to the German language and culture. The full immersion concept of our school is based on the belief that languages are best learned in situations, in which students play, explore, create, sing, and learn.

Using games, puppets, songs, rhymes, and small scenes, our curriculum builds upon German speech patterns, the children may apply to various settings they find meaningful. While students will become more and more fluent in speaking the German language, they will be prepared to enter an American Kindergarten at the end of our preschool program, since letters, phonics, number etc. are introduced in the English language at the VPK program of our partner school.

The teachers at the ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ act as guides and helpers in the children’s natural desire to learn. Teachers prepare the classroom, its materials and guide students gently towards their individual goals. Instruction methods emphasize natural learning processes, play, and fun. The ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ recognizes that students learn from their peers, and that they can be positive role models for students both older and younger than themselves.

Our classroom is equipped with exclusively educational materials and we have incorporated some aspects of the ‘Montessori Method’ and its materials into our curriculum. The ‘Montessori Environment’ is quiet, respectful, and non-competitive. Children move freely and purposefully throughout the classroom choosing materials they wish to “learn” with, returning them to the shelf as found before moving on to new work.

Lessons are usually presented individually, with ample opportunities for group interaction during circle, music, art, and outdoor activities. Most lessons are independent from the language spoken and are wonderful instruments for a full immersion, or a bilingual language setting.

...read more

What We Value

The German School community respects each child as a unique person. We value our student’s physical, emotional, social and cultural individuality, and seek to establish a trusting relationship between teachers, parents and children so that students can grow and learn in a way that fits their personal needs. The German School classroom, enriched by the unique personalities and perspectives of each student, provides an environment in which children can feel confident in exploring their own interests, thoughts and feelings.

Multicultural Approach
By introducing elements of German culture, the ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale’ supports the understanding of multiple cultures. We design activities that highlight traditions specific to German-speaking cultures in a manner that invites and respects the individual background of all students. Discussions such as “What festivities does your family celebrate?” establishes an awareness of the differences and commonalities between people and cultures in the global community. We model a peaceful, embracing attitude about the world, while encouraging a desire within our students to go out into the world to explore, find, experience and learn.

On the matter of leadership, we believe, that a leader needs to be involved in all aspects of the daily school life, stay connected and understand what is going on and where changes are necessary. Respect for each other is one of the most important elements to maintain a positive relationship with all employees. At the same time it is very important to lead by example and to act as a role model to other members of the staff, as well as students. We believe in open communication, which is an important tool in staying connected to staff members.

...read more

WELCOME

Multicultural Approach

By introducing elements of German culture, the ‘German School of Ft. Lauderdale‘ supports the understanding of multiple cultures. We design activities that highlight traditions specific to German-speaking cultures in a manner that invites and respects the individual background of all students. Discussions such as „What festivities does your family celebrate?“ establishes an awareness of the differences and commonalities between people and cultures in the global community. We model a peaceful, embracing attitude about the world, while encouraging a desire within our students to go out into the world to explore, find, experience and learn.

On the matter of leadership, we believe, that a leader needs to be involved in all aspects of the daily school life, stay connected and understand what is going on and where changes are necessary. Respect for each other is one of the most important elements to maintain a positive relationship with all employees. At the same time it is very important to lead by example and to act as a role model to other members of the staff, as well as students. We believe in open communication, which is an important tool in staying connected to staff members.

...read more

Svenja Iglesias

Svenja Iglesias was born in Essen, Germany, and has lived and worked there until the year of 2000. She attended the ‚University Essen‘ and passed the ‘First State Examination for Elementary School Teachers’.
Following that, she concluded a two year internship at the ‘Study seminar for Elementary School Teachers – Essen’ and passed the ‘Second State Exam for Elementary School Teachers’, which is the equivalent of the US degree ‚Master of Science in Elementary Education‘.
The focus of Svenja’s pedagogical interest was and still is reform pedagogy. Both her state exam thesis dealt with these areas.
Svenja founded the ‘German-American School’ in August of 2002, first as a Saturday school and later followed by the preschool. She loves to pass the German language, customs and culture on abroad, as well as the teaching of children and adults.
Svenja is very passionate about her profession.
In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her husband, daughters and friends, loves traveling, working out as well as activities in the nature and waters of Florida.

Svenja Iglesias
(Director/ Owner)

APPLE (Accredited Professional Preschool Learning Environment) Accreditation is a national American early learning program accreditation that recognizes early learning centers for operating high quality programs. Research shows a direct link between a high-quality early learning experience and a child’s future success. APPLE sets standards which accelerate an early learning center’s drive to achieve that level of care and education outcomes

Founded in 1978, the German Language School Conference (GLSC) is the only national organization dedicated to the needs of community-based German language schools in the United States. Our mission is to link member schools with a central organization for information and support. We assist in the establishment of new language schools and provide a forum for sharing experiences and advice.

PASCH stands for the initiative “Schools: Partners of the Future”. It networks more than 1,800 schools worldwide, where the German language is of importance. PASCH is an initiative of the Federal Foreign Office in cooperation with the Central Office for Schools Abroad (ZfA), the Goethe-Institut (GI), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Pedagogical Exchange Service (PAD) of the Standing Conference.

Students of the “German-American School of Ft. Lauderdale” may obtain the German Language Certificate (DSD) of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the States in the Federal Republic of Germany as proof of knowledge of the German language in two steps. All in all, there are 4 exam segments testing 4 skills: auditory comprehension, reading comprehension, written and oral communication. The test problems are prepared by the “Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen” (ZfA) [Central Department for the School System Abroad] in Cologne, and the test implementation rests with the local German teachers.

Level I of the DSD is considered proof of knowledge of the German language necessary to be accepted at a preparatory college. Pursuant to the Resolution of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the States in the Federal Republic of Germany, Level II qualifies as proof of knowledge of the German language required for a university education.

The Voluntary Prekindergarten Education Program – or VPK – is a free prekindergarten program for 4 and 5-year-olds who reside in Florida. Parents can enroll their child in the state’s free, voluntary prekindergarten (VPK) education program that year or wait until the following year when their child is 5. The program and its curriculum are regulated by the state of Florida.

The Florida Association for Child Care Management is a nonprofit, professional organization of childcare providers dedicated to ensuring the highest quality in the early learning industry through accreditation, education and advocacy.

The Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF) is a state agency of Florida. Its headquarters are in Tallahassee. The department provides social services to children, adults, refugees, domestic violence victims, human trafficking victims, the homeless community, childcare providers, disabled people, elderly.

With nearly 3,500 members, the American Association of Teachers of German is for teachers of German at all levels of instruction and all those interested in the teaching of German. Founded in 1926, AATG believes that bringing the language, literature, and cultures of the German speaking world to all Americans is a vital humanistic endeavor, which serves an essential national interest.